Dream. Explore. Connect. It’s time to go North.

Your bush plane banks right, preparing to descend into the true north; into the heart and soul of Canada. Gazing out across the jagged mountain peaks you shiver with excitement, awestruck. This is it. Your journey into the Canada of your dreams begins now. Deep in this northern national park, the air is different. Clearer. Crisper. You inhale peacefulness, solitude. You exhale anticipation; your choices for adventure are boundless. Hike. Paddle. Relax. Discover. Connect. Warmed by the welcome of your Aboriginal hosts, illuminated by 24-hour daylight, and enthralled by the stories of this land and its people, this is your experience for the making.

Come and join us. Live this moment. Be one with the places in Canada’s iconic north that you have only dreamed of. This is your Northern Iconic Experience.

See available destinations on the map below.


Experiences by province and territory

Yukon | Northwest Territories | Nunavut | Manitoba | Newfoundland and Labrador


Yukon

Fly-in camping

Two hikers leave a mountain top look-out beneath the midnight sun. Happy hikers start their return to camp after enjoying a magnificent mountain look-out beneath the midnight sun.

Take a Twin Otter bush plane to the mountain haven of Ivvavik National Park at the most northerly tip of the Yukon. Be welcomed by your Inuvialuit host at Imniarvik base camp, your safe and comfortable headquarters for a week-long Arctic adventure. The landscapes in Ivvavik will take your breath away: hike mountain ridges to reach Halfway to Heaven peak or amble along the shores of the rushing Firth River. Be engrossed by the story of the 3,000 km migration the Porcupine caribou make through this magnificent mountain range. Feel the drum, hear the song, or listen to the story of the culture of the people of the Western Arctic. Join us to live your #arcticdream.

Fly-in camping at Ivvavik National Park



Northwest Territories

Connecting to the land

Two visitors and an Inuvialuit guide speak with a river in the distance. Visitors learn from Inuvialuit guide Jonah Nakimayak, from Paulatuk, above the Hornaday River.

Many adventurers dream of camping above the Arctic Circle and connecting to the land with the Inuvialuit people who have lived here for generations. This is your chance. Listen as your Inuvialuit host reveals the nuances of this Arctic landscape: the caribou trails, the paw prints of polar bears and Arctic wolves, and the caches where people who came before stored their harvest. Hike with your Parks Canada guide to the rim of the spectacular Brock Canyon. Watch a local hunter deftly clean the rich flesh of a fish on the shores of One Island Lake. Relax over bannock and tea under the never-setting sun. Make your own connection to the land in Tuktut Nogait National Park.

Connecting to the land in Tuktut Nogait National Park


Nunavut

Experience the top of the world

Three female visitors take in spectacular mountain and glacier views. Visitors enjoy the spectacular views of mountains and glaciers near Tanquary Fiord.

Walk in the footsteps of ancient hunters, polar explorers, and military scientists whose adventures weave themselves into the story of Quttinirpaaq National Park. Challenge yourself in this vast, rugged land. High above the Arctic Circle, hike through patches of brilliant yellow Arctic poppies beneath the 24-hour sun. Cross meandering wild rivers and immense valleys. Travel past glaciers that reach down from tall, rugged peaks. Watch muskoxen graze near Arctic wolves. Look towards the horizon; the North Pole is only 800 km away. Be one of the privileged few to set foot in this extraordinary place. Book one of nine seats on a Parks Canada charter from Resolute to Tanquary Fiord. Join a 14-day hike with Black Feather wilderness guides or create your own adventure in Canada’s most northern national park.

Experience the top of the world at Quttinirpaaq National Park



Manitoba

York Factory National Historic Site Try your hand at some of the skills that would have been essential to an 18th century fur trader and learn how their lives became our history.

Take in the sounds and smells of 300 years of history as you arrive at York Factory – do you have what it takes to live a fur trade life? Try your hand at fur trader skills before boarding a bush plane over the boggy green tundra, keeping your eyes peeled for the sight of a polar bear or a caribou. From the ground, Wapusk National Park stretches before you in every direction: the sky seems to be bigger than you’ve ever imagined. Hike out onto the tundra, escorted confidently by a local bear monitor and watch the purple blooms of the fireweed dance quietly in the breeze. Journey across the Churchill River estuary, watching for some of the 3,000 beluga whales that gather here each summer, to the mighty Prince of Wales Fort. Feel the power of the Hudson Bay’s waves crashing against the rocks below and touch the cast iron cannons that still stand on guard, as they always have. After a spectacular northern sunset, settle in at your comfortable overnight camp for your last night on the land, imagining how the previous inhabitants lived here.

Adventure at the edge of the arctic at Wapusk National Park and Northern Manitoba National Historic Sites



Newfoundland and Labrador

Torngat Mountains base camp and research Station: gateway to Torngat Mountains National Park

Four visitors on a mountain top overlooking the base camp below. Visitors enjoy the rewards of an evening hike overlooking the Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station.

Feel the cool fresh air against your face as you travel by longliner fishing boat on the last leg of your journey to the Torngat Mountains Base Camp and Research Station. You’ve finally arrived! Landing ashore under the watchful eye of a bear monitor, you realize that you are surrounded by worn mountain peaks for as far as the eye can see. Settling into your chosen accommodations, you give pause to the remoteness of this place. Giddy with excitement, you anticipate each day’s new adventures: visiting Sallikuluk (Rose Island) a focal point of the Inuit cultural landscape in Saglek Fjord; hiking with Inuit who guide you in their homeland, telling of how they lived on this land before the comforts of gortex and hiking boots; or being dropped off to launch your multi-day hiking adventure up Nakvak Brook in Torngat Mountains National Park. As the day turns to night, you enjoy the laughter and camaraderie of your Inuit hosts and new friends – researchers, staff, artists, and travellers – and listen as young Inuit drummers and throat singers keep their culture alive. You fall asleep with the northern lights dancing overhead and realize that your journey has only just begun.

Torngat Mountains base camp and research station: gateway to Torngat Mountains National Park

Rêvez. Explorez. Nouez des liens. C’est le temps de mettre le cap sur le Nord.

Des frissons d’excitation parcourent votre corps pendant que l’avion de brousse gronde et prend son envol pour vous déposer au cœur de l’un des parcs nationaux canadiens les plus nordiques. Vous respirez l’air glacé du Nord, émerveillé devant les pics déchiquetés des montagnes entourant votre camp de base, enchanté par l’accueil chaleureux de votre hôte autochtone. L’avion disparaît dans le ciel, et vous savourez la quiétude ambiante. Pas une seule âme qui vive à des kilomètres à la ronde. Votre voyage vient de commencer. Faites de la randonnée pédestre et du canot. Relaxez. Découvrez. Apprenez. Telles sont les expériences qui se présentent à vous.

Vous vous levez de bonne heure; l’ensoleillement 24 heures sur 24 n’épargne pas l’intérieur de votre tente. Vous marchez sur les collines légèrement ondulées de la toundra, ou relevez le défi d’atteindre des crêtes montagneuses spectaculaires. Vous profitez des points de vue magnifiques sur 360°. Le territoire prend vie sous un nouvel angle dans les histoires racontées par votre hôte autochtone. À la fin d’une longue journée, vous vous rafraîchissez en plongeant vos pieds fatigués dans les eaux glaciales d’un ruisseau qui dévalent la montagne. Vous savourez les délicieux mets traditionnels offerts par votre hôte et cuisinier.

Les Expériences nordiques emblématiques vous permettent de visiter les endroits du Nord canadien dont vous rêviez. Joignez-vous à nous! Nouez des liens personnels avec le Nord. Réalisez vos rêves nordiques.

Consultez la carte ci-dessous pour voir les destinations disponibles.

Expériences par province et territoire

Yukon

Camping avec transport par avion
Deux randonneurs quittent un point de vue au sommet d’une montagne sous le soleil de minuit.
Deux randonneurs heureux entament leur retour au camp après avoir profité d’un magnifique point de vue au sommet d’une montagne sous le soleil de minuit.

Vous prenez place dans un avion de brousse de type Twin Otter pour vous rendre dans un havre entouré de montagnes du parc national Ivvavik, situé à l’extrémité nord du Yukon. Votre hôte inuvialuit vous accueille au camp de base d’Imniarvik, qui servira de quartier général sécuritaire et confortable pour une aventure arctique d’une semaine. Les paysages d’Ivvavik sont à couper le souffle : parcourez les crêtes montagneuses pour atteindre le pic Halfway to Heaven, ou flâner le long des rives de la tumultueuse rivière Firth. Laissez-vous captiver par l’histoire de la migration des caribous de la Porcupine à travers cette magnifique chaîne de montagnes, sur 3 000 km. Vibrez aux sons des tambours et des chansons, ou écoutez l’histoire de la culture des habitants de l’Arctique de l’Ouest. Joignez-vous à nous et vivez votre #rêvearctique.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Nouer des liens avec le territoire
Deux visiteurs et un guide inuvialuit parlent avec une rivière au loin.
Des visiteurs découvrent la rivière Hornaday en compagnie du guide inuvialuit Jonah Nakimayak, de Paulatuk

Beaucoup d’aventuriers rêvent de faire du camping au delà du cercle polaire arctique et de nouer des liens avec le territoire et les Inuvialuits qui y vivent depuis des générations. Voici une occasion à ne pas manquer! Écoutez votre hôte inuvialuit alors qu’il révèle les nuances de ce paysage arctique : les pistes de caribou, les empreintes d’ours polaires et de loups arctiques, et les caches où les habitants d’autrefois entreposaient leurs récoltes. Faites une randonnée pédestre avec votre guide de Parcs Canada jusqu’au bord du spectaculaire canyon de la rivière Brock. Regardez un chasseur local nettoyer habilement la chair fraîche d’un poisson sur les rives du lac One Island. Relaxez en mangeant du pain bannock et en buvant du thé, sous un soleil qui ne se couche jamais. Nouez des liens personnels avec le territoire au parc national Tuktut Nogait.

Nunavut

Faites l’expérience du sommet du monde
Trois visiteuses admirent le panorama spectaculaire de la montagne et du glacier.
Des visiteuses admirent le panorama spectaculaire de la montagne et du glacier près du fjord Tanquary.

Marchez dans les pas des chasseurs d’antan, des explorateurs polaires et des scientifiques militaires dont les aventures ont tissé l’histoire du parc national Quttinirpaaq. Mettez-vous au défi dans ce territoire vaste et accidenté. Bien au dessus du cercle polaire arctique, faites une randonnée pédestre à travers les massifs de pavots d’Islande jaunes et brillants, sous un soleil qui ne se couche jamais. Traversez des rivières sauvages sinueuses et d’immenses vallées. Franchissez des glaciers descendant de hauts sommets escarpés. Observez les bœufs musqués près des loups arctiques. Regardez vers l’horizon; seulement 800 km vous séparent du pôle Nord. Soyez un des rares privilégiés à mettre le pied sur ce territoire extraordinaire. Réservez une des neuf places pour le transport nolisé de Parcs Canada en partance de Resolute vers le fjord Tanquary. Participez à une randonnée pédestre de 14 jours avec des guides en milieu sauvage Black Feather, ou créez votre propre aventure dans le parc national canadien le plus nordique.

Manitoba

Lieu historique national York Factory
Essayez des techniques traditionnelles qui auraient été essentielles à un commerçant de fourrure du 18e siècle et découvrez comment leur vie est devenue notre histoire.

En arrivant à York Factory, laissez vous transporter par les sons et les odeurs de 300 ans d’histoire – avez-vous ce qu’il faut pour vivre de la traite des fourrures? Exercez vos compétences de commerçant de fourrures avant d’embarquer dans un avion de brousse qui survolera la toundra verte et marécageuse pendant que vous surveillez d’un œil attentif la présence d’ours polaires ou de caribous. De retour sur la terre ferme, vous constatez que le parc national Wapusk s’étend dans toutes les directions, et le ciel vous semble plus vaste que vous ne l’avez jamais imaginé. Marchez dans la toundra, escorté avec assurance par un surveillant d’ours local, et contemplez les fleurs violettes de l’épilobe à feuilles étroites qui dansent silencieusement dans la brise. Traversez l’estuaire de la rivière Churchill, à l’affût des quelque 3 000 bélugas qui se réunissent ici chaque année, près de l’imposant fort Prince-de-Galles. Sentez la puissance des vagues de la baie d’Hudson qui viennent se briser sur les rochers en bas du fort, et touchez aux canons de fonte qui montent encore la garde, comme autrefois. Après un spectaculaire coucher de soleil nordique, installez-vous dans votre confortable campement pour y passer une dernière nuit, et imaginez comment les habitants d’autrefois vivaient à cet endroit.

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

Camp de base et station de recherche des monts Torngat : porte d’entrée du parc national des Monts-Torngat
Quatre visiteurs au sommet d’une montagne surplombant le camp de base.
Des visiteurs sont récompensés pour leur randonnée en soirée par les spectacle du camp de base et de la station de recherche des monts Torgnat à leurs pieds.

Sentez l’air frais sur votre visage pendant que vous naviguez sur un palangrier lors de la dernière étape du trajet vers le camp de base et la station de recherche des monts Torngat. Enfin, vous êtes arrivé! Vous gagnez la terre ferme sous l’œil vigilant du surveillant d’ours, et constatez que vous êtes entourés par des cimes de montagnes érodées s’étalant à perte de vue. En vous installant dans le lieu d’hébergement que vous avez choisi, vous oubliez à quel point l’endroit est isolé. Vous anticipez les nouvelles aventures quotidiennes des prochains jours et ne tenez plus en place : visite de Sallikuluk (île Rose), un point d’attraction du paysage culturel inuit du fjord Saglek; randonnée pédestre avec des Inuits qui vous guident sur leur terre natale et vous racontant comment ils vivaient avant le confort des bottes en Gortex et de randonnées; terminus à l’embouchure du ruisseau Nakvak, afin d’amorcer une aventure de randonnée pédestre de plusieurs jours le long du cours d’eau dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat. Au crépuscule, vous profitez de la bonne humeur et de la camaraderie de vos hôtes inuits et de vos nouveaux amis – chercheurs, membres du personnel, artistes, et voyageurs – en écoutant de jeunes Inuits prouver que leur culture est toujours vivante, dans une démonstration de tambours et de chant guttural. Vous vous rendez compte que votre aventure vient de commencer, avant de vous endormir sous un ciel éclairé par la danse des aurores boréales.